Home > Classical Music >

Heifetz Master Classes
Heifetz Master Classes

Alternative Views:

Item #: D1550
Our Price: $34.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 221 minutes
Color: B&W
UPC: 032031155091
ISBN: 978-0-7697-9111-1

Availability: In Stock

Description Scenes & Extras
Jascha Heifetz, this country's greatest violinist, makes a rare television appearance, sharing his technical wizardry and performance wisdom in the acclaimed Master Class Series filmed at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles in 1962.

"Heifetz Teaching Rare Television Treat" - Variety.

"It's a privilege to look in on Jascha Heifetz, the master violinist, in action, and this new series catches him in a rare blend of sternness and informality as he works with gifted students." - The Boston Globe

Maestro Jascha Heifetz, becomes Professor Heifetz in these rare filmed master classes from the early 1960s. Taken from his legendary sessions at USC, Los Angeles, this brilliant musician can be seen demonstrating, cajoling, inspiring and occasionally-terrifying his pupils as he imparts his unquestioned genius and lifetime of musical experience.

Learn the secrets of intonation, phrasing and vibrato from the man whose name has become synonymous with the violin.

Program Includes:
Volume 1
1. Wieniawski: Polonaise Brilante No. 2; Valle: Ao pe da fogueira
Varoujon Kodjian; Brooks Smith, piano
2. Brahms: Concerto in D Major, Op. 77 (First Movement)
Erick Friedman; Brooks Smith, piano
Bach: Double Concerto in D Minor (Third Movement)
Erick Friedman and Jascha Heifetz; Brooks Smith, piano
3. Dont: Etude No. 5; Chausson: Poeme, Op. 25
Claire Hodgkins; Brooks Smith, piano
4. Bach: Concerto No. 1 in A Minor (First Movement)
Carol Sindell; Jascha Heifetz, piano
Tchaikovsky: Concerto in D Major, Op. 35 (Third Movement)
Robert Witte; Brooks Smith, piano
5. Credits

Volume 2
1. Bach: Sonata in G Minor (Adagio and Fugue)
Erick Friedman
Bach:Double Concerto in D Minor (Second Movement)
Jascha Heifetz and Erich Friedman; Brooks Smith, piano
2. Franck: Sonata in A Major (First Movement)
Erick Friedman; Brooks Smith, piano
Brahms: Sonata in D Minor (Third and Fourth Movements)
Adam Han-Gorski; Brooks Smith, piano
3. Bach: Partita No. 2 in D Minor (Chaconne)
Varoujon Kodjian
Beethoven: String Quartet, Op. 18, No. 5 (First Movement)
Carol Sindell and Jascha Heifetz; Erick Friedman, viola; Nathaniel Rosen, cello
4. Brahms: Sonata in D Minor (First Movement)
Adam Han-Gorski; Brooks smith, piano
Paganini: Caprice No. 17
Erick Friedman
Collector's Item - Heifetz Parody of an Audition
5. Credits

Cast & Crew

Jascha Heifetz

Composed by: Johann Sebastian Bach

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories