Home > Classical Music >

La Vierge - Massenet/Orchestra Sinfonica
La Vierge - Massenet/Orchestra Sinfonica

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D4364
Our Price: $29.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 94 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031436497
ISBN: 978-0-7697-8909-5

Availability: In Stock

La Vierge is an oratorio in four scenes by Jules Massenet to a French libretto by Charles Grandmougin. It was first performed at the Opéra in Paris on May 22, 1880.

The oratorio is a recounting of the story of the Virgin Mary from the Annunciation to her death. In the first scene, Mary is visited by the Angel Gabriel and told that she will bear a son, Jesus. The second scene takes place at the Marriage of Cana where Jesus turns water to wine, and the third on Good Friday when Jesus is crucified. The fourth scene relates the Assumption, Mary's ascension to heaven.

Although never popular as a whole, the orchestral piece “Le Dernier sommeil de la Vierge” (The last sleep of the Virgin) remains a popular encore piece to this day.

Basilica di Santa Maria degli Angeli, Roma


Share |

Cast & Crew

Montserrat Caballé
Montserrat Martí
Chiara Angella
Ruben Martinez
Alessandra Zapparoli
Kim Young-Joo

Composer: Jules Massenet

Orchestra Sinfonica del Festival di Pasqua
Conductor: Jose Collado
Choir Master: Osvaldo Guidotti

Director: Enrico Castiglione

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories