Home > Classical Music >

Aaron Copland: Music in the 20's
Aaron Copland

Alternative Views:

Item #: D4760
Our Price: $69.99
Region: ALL
Running Time: 348 minutes
Color: B&W
UPC: 032031476097
ISBN: 978-0-7697-9141-8

Availability: In Stock

Description Scenes & Extras
To Watch A Short Clip Click Here
Please click here to download Windows Media Player for MAC.

These 12 half-hour programs offer an insight into the seminal music of the 20th century by one of America's profound musical minds and, arguably, its most celebrated composer.

The lectures and the television series focus on the years commencing in 1921, when, as a young man, Copland journeyed to Paris. There he studied for three years with the legendary teacher Nadia Boulanger. Steeped within the seismic revolutionary 20's cultural upheaval that altered painting, literature and music, Copland was energized by contacts with many of the personalities who were the substance of the changes.

He mixed with painters - Chagall, Picasso, Modigliani and with writers - James Joyce, Gertrude Stein, Ernest Hemingway, Ezra Pound and André Gide. But Copland was naturally enthralled and enlightened by the composers: especially Stravinsky, Schoenberg and their influences on Berg, Webern and almost everyone else; by French composers, Satie, Poulenc, Milhaud, Honegger; by fellow Americans, Virgil Thomson, Roy Harris, Charles Ives; by European schools - Béla Bartok, Paul Hindemith and Kurt Weill; by American jazz and its impact on Stravinsky and Milhaud among others.

The twelve programs contain a detailed illuminating discourse by Maestro Copland.

The series includes on-camera performances by a hand-picked studio orchestra along with appearances of instrumental luminaries: Sylvia Marlowe, David Tudor, Paul Jacobs, Tossy Spivakovsky, the Julliard String Quartet; vocalists: Beverly Sills, Lotte Lenya, Donald Gramm and conductors: Aaron Copland, Sarah Caldwell, Milton Rosenstock and Igor Stravinsky.

The programs also contain appropriate instructive piano demonstrations by Aaron Copland of key music elements.

MUSIC IN THE 20's will prove to be an invaluable aid to scholars, music educators and a renewed insight to music lovers.

Cast & Crew

Aaron Copland
Lotte Lenya

Composed by: Aaron Copland
Igor Stravinsky

Conducted by: Aaron Copland

Leonard Bernstein's New York
Our Price: $19.99

Leonard Bernstein's New York
Leonard Bernstein: The Concert Collection
Our Price: $99.99

Leonard Bernstein: The Concert Collection
The Unanswered Question: Six Talks At Harvard By Leonard Bernstein
Our Price: $99.99

The Unanswered Question: Six Talks At Harvard By Leonard Bernstein
Leonard Bernstein's: Young People's Concerts
Our Price: $149.99

Leonard Bernstein's: Young People's Concerts is a Classical Music Dvd set.

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Profile / Doc
Collector's Sets
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories