Home > Classical Music >

After the Storm: The American Exile of Béla Bartók
After the Storm: The American Exile of Béla Bartók

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D4406
Our Price: $24.99
Region: All
Running Time: 75 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031440692
ISBN: 978-0-7697-8756-5

Availability: In Stock

Description Reviews
To Watch A Short Clip Click Here
Please click here to download Windows Media Player for MAC.

"It's as though we've been caught in a storm at sea and blown to shore with no more than the clothes on our backs."

So wrote the great Hungarian composer Béla Bartók (1881- 1945) on his arrival in New York in 1940, after losing his luggage on the voyage from war-torn Europe and finding himself sadly lost in an unfamiliar culture. He was to spend the last years of his life there, fighting sickness, poverty and failure. Nevertheless, consoled by the cycles of nature, his last five years produced some of his greatest and most moving music.

In this documentary film many of the composer's friends and colleagues, including Yehudi Menuhin and Georg Solti, join his sons Peter and Béla Jr to tell the story of these last years of exile. The music is performed by the Budapest Symphony Orchestra conducted by Ervin Lukacs and Sir Georg Solti, with György Sándor (piano) and Laszló Barsony (viola).


Share |

Cast & Crew

Composer: Béla Bartók

Budapest Symphony Orchestra
Conductors: Ervin Lukacs and Sir Georg Solti

György Sándor (piano)
Laszló Barsony (viola)

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories