Home > Classical Music >

Bernstein In Japan: Schumann No.1/Shostakovich No.5
Bernstein In Japan: Schumann No.1/Shostakovich No.5

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D1355
Our Price: $19.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 90 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031135598
ISBN: 0-7697-8065-2

Availability: In Stock

Felix Mendelssohn conducted the premiere performance of Robert Schumann's First or Spring Symphony in 1841, six weeks after the work's completion, and the composer won acclaim as a symphonist on his first try.

Dmitri Shostakovich had been a darling of the Soviet regime but in 1936 began to slide into official disfavor. His Fifth Symphony reinstated him in official good graces, but some listeners hear in its triumphal conclusion an undertone of bitter irony.


Share |

Cast & Crew
New York Philharmonic
Conductor: Leonard Bernstein

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance
Classical Music > Leonard Bernstein

Most Popular Categories