Home > Opera >

Dream Of Gerontius (BBC Symphony)
Dream Of Gerontius (BBC Symphony)

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D4082
Our Price: $29.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 110 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031408296
ISBN: 0-7697-8243-4

Availability: In Stock

Edward Elgar's great choral work, in the magnificent setting of St Paul's Cathedral in London, formed part of the BBC's 75th anniversary celebrations. It is a towering work, a setting of Cardinal Newman's poem about the death of an elderly sinner and his soul's progress towards the judgment of God.

Andrew Davis, an inspired interpreter of Elgar, conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra with soloists Catherine Wyn Rogers as the Angel, Philip Langridge as Gerontius and Alastair Miles who combines the parts of the Priest and the Angel of the Agony.


Share |

Cast & Crew

Catherine Wyn Rogers
Philip Langridge
Alastair Miles

Composer: Edward Elgar

BBC Symphony Orchestra and Chorus
Conductor: Andrew Davis

Presenter: James Naughtie
Directed for video by: Bob Coles

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Opera > Performance

Most Popular Categories