Home > Classical Music >

Heifetz & Piatigorsky
Heifetz & Piatigorsky

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D1101
Our Price: $19.99
Region: All
Running Time: 76 minutes
Color: B&W
UPC: 032031110199
ISBN: 0-7697-7910-7

Availability: In Stock

JASCHA HEIFETZ - Rare footage of the incomparable violinist at the height of his career. The program begins with a portrait of the artist. It takes us into the home of the virtuoso where we view his practice techniques and hear Heifetz playing.

• Chaconne (Vitali)
• Prelude in E-Major (Bach)
• Girl With the Flaxen Hair (Debussy)
• Scherzo Tarantella (Wieniawski)
• Twenty-Fourth Caprice (Paganini)

In the next segment, Heifetz and his accompanist Emanuel Bay give an impromptu recital at Pomona College. The Varied program includes:

• Sweet Remembrance (Mendelssohn)
• Sonatensatz (Brahms)
• Hungarian Dance No. 7 (Brahms)
• Melodie (Gluck)
• March from Love for Three Oranges (Prokofiev)
• Polonaise (Wieniawski)
• Hora Staccato (Dinicu-Heifetz)

GREGOR PIATIGORSKY - One of the greatest cellists of all time in a brilliant presentation of:

• Bourees #1 and #2 from C-Major Suite (Bach)
• Slow Movement from Cello Sonata (Chopin)
• Masques from Romeo and Juliet (Prokofiev)
• Romance (Anton Rubinstein)
• Waltz (Tchaikovsky)
• Introduction, Theme and Variations (Schubert-Piatigorsky)


Share |

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories