Home > Classical Music >

A Journey of Dmitry Shostakovich
Journey of Dmitry Shostakovich

Alternative Views:

Item #: D4753
Our Price: $19.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 56 minutes
Color: Color/B&W
UPC: 032031475397
ISBN: 978-0-7697-9135-7

Availability: In Stock

Description Scenes & Extras
To Watch A Short Clip Click Here
Please click here to download Windows Media Player for MAC.

The greatest composer of the 20th century remains one of its biggest mysteries.

Nine days of the ocean voyage from Moscow to New York comprise the nine chapters of this documentary film about Dmitry Shostakovich.

Unique, highly personal fragments of the composer's life are contrasted with the ideologically charged propaganda of the Soviet liner's staged shipboard events.

The film reveals the personality of the quiet, retiring man who disliked publicity but was obliged to serve as a Soviet public figure; a genius faced with the choice between artistic freedom and harsh ideology, between truth and survival.

Shostakovich's music, full of dark sarcasm and breathtaking lyricism, exaggerated joy and frightening celebration, plays the leading part in the film.

Cast & Crew

Dmitry Shostakovich

Composed by: Dmitry Shostakovich

Conducted by: Daniel Barenboim

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Profile / Doc

Most Popular Categories