Home > Classical Music >

Maxim Vengerov: Playing by Heart and Masterclass
Maxim Vengerov: Playing by Heart and Masterclass

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D4336
Our Price: $24.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 100 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031433694
ISBN: 978-0-7697-8703-9

Availability: In Stock

Russian-born Maxim Vengerov is one of the greatest violinists of his generation. He has already performed with the world’s leading orchestras and conductors, including Barenboim, Gergiev, Giulini, Maazel, Menuhin and Rostropovich, and has received a host of awards and nominations.

This profile explores his musical artistry, at work with Daniel Barenboim and with students of the Royal Academy in London. He believes that his music holds great potential for others, and in 1997 he became an Honorary Envoy for Music for UNICEF. This film also gives a private glimpse of the man ‘off-duty’, away from his professional responsibilities.

In this masterclass, from the historic concert hall in Blackheath, London, Maxim Vengerov reveals his approach to visualising music and performing to four exceptional students. The participants are musicians at various stages in their careers. Alexander Sitkovetsky, then 15 and a pupil at the Menuhin School of Music, performs the Rondeau from Mozart’s Violin concerto in D minor. Chloë Hanslip, who at 11 years old was already following in Maxim’s footsteps, works on the Caprice Basque by Sarasate. A graduate from the Menuhin School, Corina Belcea, then 23, performs the first movement from Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto and Philipp Schöttle, then 20, performs the unaccompanied third Sonata by Ysaÿe. With vivid anecdotes and lots of fun, Maxim gives the students and audience an insight into what can make music so magical and far-reaching.

Mozart: Violin Concerto No 4 – Rondeau with Alexander Sitkovetsky
Sarasate: Caprice Basque with Chloë Hanslip
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto – 1st Movement with Corina Belcea
Ysaÿe: Sonata No 3 – Ballade with Philipp Schöttle


Share |

Cast & Crew
Narrator: Andrew Sachs

Director: Simon Broughton
Producer: Carl Simons Executive Producers: John Kelleher and James Wills

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories