Home > Classical Music >

The Rosamunde Quartet: Celibidache's Heritage
The Rosamunde Quartet: Celibidache's Heritage

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D4607
Our Price: $19.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 60 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031460799
ISBN: 978-0-7697-8934-7

Availability: In Stock

Description Scenes & Extras
To Watch A Short Clip Click Here
Please click here to download Windows Media Player for MAC.

The Munich-based Rosamunde Quartet made a sensational début in 1992 and swiftly gained an international reputation as a chamber ensemble noted for its individual style and mastery of a broad repertoire. Unusually, the four musicans – Andreas Reiner (first violin), Simon Fordham (second violin), Helmut Nicolai (viola) and Anja Lechner (cello) – came together after they had individually established successful careers.

Up until his death in 1996, maestro Sergiu Celibidache was their mentor, friend and critic in this venture, and he continues to be their inspiration. The quartet emulate his single-minded perfectionism; approach music-making, as he did, from a well-founded understanding; and always remember his impatience if he thought they were just playing notes and not music.

This lively and intimate portrait accompanies the ensemble as they rehearse, travel, perform, and also catches each of the musicians off duty. They are seen playing works by both classical and modern composers in sequences which have a contemporary visual impact, and their collaboration with the Argentinean bandoneon master, Dino Saluzzi, is also featured.


Share |

Cast & Crew
Andreas Reine, first violin
Simon Fordham, second violin
Helmut Nicolai, viola
Anja Lechner, cello
Dino Saluzzi, bandoneon master

Narrator: Jay Tuck

Director / Producer: Christian Gramstadt
Sound: Dirk Peikert
Sound Mix: Klaus Flemming
Editors: Norajr Stepanjan and Detlev Klein

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories