Home > Classical Music >

Steve Reich's City Life
Steve Reich's City Life

Alternative Views:

Item #:  D4201
Our Price: $19.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 61 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031420199
ISBN: 0-7697-8502-6

Availability: In Stock

Description Reviews
Born in 1936, Steve Reich is one of the most significant American composers of the 20th century. Manfred Waffender’s major documentary traces the background to the creation of City Life. Reich masterfully captures sounds from New York City street life with the aid of two sampling keyboards and microphone, forging the noise of the city street into a work for string quartet, wind, percussion and two pianos. The film culminates in a performance of the piece from the Frankfurt Opera House, with the Ensemble Modern conducted by Sian Edwards.


Share |

Cast & Crew
Ensemble Modern
Conductor: Sian Edwards

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance

Most Popular Categories