Home > Classical Music >

Sounds Magnificent: The Story of the Symphony - André Previn
Sounds Magnificent: The Story of the Symphony - Andre Previn

Alternative Views:

Item #: D4572
Our Price: $39.99
Region: 1 (US & Canada Only)
Running Time: 525 minutes
Color: Color
UPC: 032031457294
ISBN: 978-0-7697-9075-6

Availability: In Stock

Description Reviews
In this series of programs, André Previn conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in some of the most popular works from the concert repertoire symphonies by Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Berlioz, Brahms, Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich. Each program is introduced by André Previn talking about the piece to be performed and about the composers who created these masterworks, giving illustrations of aspects of their music with a variety of orchestral excerpts.

Program One:
Haydn's Symphony No.87 in A (1785), Mozart's Symphony No.39 in E flat K543 (1788)

Program Two:

Excerpts from Beethoven's Symphony No.5 in C minor Op.67 (1804-8) and a performance of the composer's Symphony No.7 in A Op.92 (1811-12)

Program Three:

Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique Op.14 (1830-1 )

Program Four:

Brahms' Symphony No.4 in E minor Op.98 (1885)

Program Five:

Tchaikovsky's Symphony No.6 in B minor Op.74, Path‚tique (1893)

Program Six:

Shostakovich's Symphony No.5 in D minor Op.47, A Soviet Artist?s Practical Creative Reply to Just Criticism (1937)

Cast & Crew

André Previn

Composed by: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Conducted by: André Previn

Share your knowledge of this product with other customers... Be the first to write a review

Browse for more products in the same category as this item:

Classical Music
Classical Music > Performance
Collector's Sets

Most Popular Categories